A TALE OF YOUNG ED!! Music Video Review: Castle On The Hill-Ed Sheeran

Image result for ed sheeran 2017

You know what’s kind of a big deal in the music world? WHEN A HUGE, SUPERTALENTED, ARTIST COMES BACK AFTER A YEAR-LONG HIATUS with not only one but TWO new singles!!

Especially when Mr. Ed Sheeran becomes the first artist EVER on the Billboard charts to have two songs simultaneously debut in the top 10!

You know who should write about these things closer to when they happen? *hides sheepishly* (Though if you want more instantaneous commentary/excitement you could give my twitter @DanatheFangirl a follow!)

But Castle On The Hill though!! It’s my favorite of the two new songs because it’s soulful and storytelling! Freaking amazing! (If you want my take on Shape of You, it’s a BOP! Boppier than most of his music, but that’s probably because it was meant for Rihanna!)

There’s a lil Ed! Remember the Lego House video where Rupert Grint (AKA RON FREAKING WEASLEY) kind of played Ed?! NO OTHER FAKE EDS CAN COMPARE!

I’m glad the video is outside, because if it wasn’t I’d kind of be pissed off because it would ruin what I picture in my head when I hear it.

Boyz on a hill! The next big boy band! #hillers

Now it’s just typical teenage guy stuff. Why is a roadtrip so interesting to look at? You wouldn’t think it, but look how many music vids use it and aren’t you amused?

It’s fitting too, because you usually have to drive in order to go back home, regardless of where you are coming from.

I love a good literal music video to lyric connection! DON’T SMOKE THOUGH! It’s bad!

The new Ed actor kind of looks like Prince Harry!

Is it more acceptable for teenagers to hang out at a pub in England? Probably. They just look too young!

I don’t peg you as the house party type Ed!

Did he just burn a whole sofa for fun? That’s cool and all, but WHERE ARE YOU GONNA WATCH TV NOW?

I like the individual shots with the song’s bridge, but I could do without them shaking!

It’s really cool that he saved the actual castle on the hill for the last shot! It’s a finale! Because gosh knows I was wondering where it was the whole time!

Rating: 6.6/10 Little Eddy boy is cute and all and it fits lyrics and the scenery is great and all, but its a bit dull and it condones smoking and underage drinking. It’s his past and all but still! Except lighting up a couch is way more interesting then my high school life ever was!

Watch:

 

Leave a comment